Update on my chocolate breakup

Heh. So I did it. I made the decision. And, startlingly, it was a lot easier than I expected (though still a hard thing to do, it didn’t feel impossible). I guess the desire to leave really had been slowly and quietly building up. Now here’s a brief update on that experience.

First, I immediately forgot that I had made such a decision. Two days later I had a cup of hot chocolate in the morning and some Hershey’s in the afternoon. Two days after that, a chocolate milkshake and chocolate froyo. I caught myself a few hours after the fact. Interesting to see how the habits I built up still had their full momentum. I’m happy to report that I didn’t beat myself up over the slip-ups at all. They’re to be expected. They’re reminders of the decision I made and proof that it was the right decision. Such mindless consumption is one of the things that drove me away.

The withdrawal symptoms are almost nonexistent. Replacing chocolate with other snacks hasn’t been too hard, and finding a replacement only rarely felt necessary. We’re still only a week or so into this thing, so there’s no telling what’s ahead. But if I had to guess from what I’ve seen, it’s going to be smooth sailing. So we can add one more thing I hate about chocolate: the way it made me feel I would have difficulty living without it. The minor difficulty I’ve had leaving it is a drop in the bucket compared to the difficulty and pain that embracing chocolate brought me.

I’m loving this new stage. Things are better, and they seem to be getting even better. Life is good for this guy.

One thought on “Update on my chocolate breakup

  1. Maureen

    I accidentally broke up with junk food sometime this year. Not all junk food. But, like, vending machine junk food. The easy stuff. It’s actually kind of annoying? But I have no interest in, like, M&Ms or chips or whatever anymore. At some point I realized that the idea of the candy was better than the actual candy and then as a result the idea of the candy stopped being any good at all, so now it’s just like, “Why don’t they put vegetable sushi in vending machines?” whenever I forget to bring my lunch with me (all the time). (The vegetable sushi is in a neighboring building so it’s not like it’s any trouble.)

    I just wanted to share. I haven’t actually broken up with chocolate, but now when I get my sweets it’s primarily from drinks (orange juice, coffee, tea, or soda, which I need to stop drinking), fruit, or baked goods. I don’t feel bad about eating a homemade cookie.

Leave a Reply

